New Zealand Youth Choir Ready for 2013

New members of 2013 NZ Youth Choir announced

After a series of 68 auditions in Dunedin, Christchurch, Auckland and Wellington the New Zealand Youth Choir’s Music Director, David Squire, has made his selection for the 2013 choir. Twenty four new members will join the existing 36 singers from the 2011/12 choir in this new 60-member strong ensemble.

It was a difficult choice and Maestro Squire commented that the overall standard of those auditioning was very high. “The difference for the successful applicants was that many had a combination of desirable factors: a strong, confident voice that demonstrated the potential to add the right tone to the current section, high-level musicianship skills, and a personable, enthusiastic attitude. As it happened, there were more of these applicants than places available, so I really hope we see everyone else back next year when the 2014 choir is auditioned.”

The 2013 NZ Youth Choir list with their hometown: new members are shown in bold.

Alicia Cadwgan (Puhoi, Auckland)
Juliette Irwin (Hastings)
Lydia Muschamp (Christchurch)
Madison Nonoa-Horsefield (Hamilton)
Luana Prictor (Auckland)
Mevagh Sanson (Wellington)
Olivia Sheat (Blenheim)
Fiona Tibbles (Auckland)
Zailie Gillard (Auckland)
Michelle Kendall (Christchurch)
Euphemia Li (Auckland)
Grace Neale Auckland
Ella Smith (Auckland)
Phoebe Sparrow (Napier)
Joanna Wells (Nelson)

Latafale Auva’a (Papakura, Auckland)
Bianca Davidson (Auckland)
Sophia Good (Christchurch)
Penny Hooson (Lower Hutt)
Beth Kriechbaum (Palmerston North)
Chelsea Numanga (Auckland)
Savannah Post (Auckland)
Julia Robinson (Auckland)
Josh Clark (Auckland)
Rhianna Clarke (Auckland)
Hazel Fenemor (Nelson)
Dilys Fong (Auckland)
Natalie Foy (Wellington)
Rebecca Sutton (Wellington)
Janet Van (Auckland)

Phillip Akau (Auckland)
Sam Bennett (Wellington)
Cameron Casey (Auckland)
Lachlan Craig (Auckland)
Benjamin Madden (Dunedin)
Samuel Madden (Dunedin)
Alexander Smith (Taupo)
Benson Wilson (Auckland)
Jeffrey Chang (Wellington)
Jared Corbett (Ashburton)
Jonathan Eyers (Hamilton)
Cameron Gray (Auckland)
Joel Miller (Wellington)
Griffin Nichol (Wellington)
David Webb (Auckland)

Nick Dow (Auckland)
Clinton Fung (Auckland)
Warren Kilham (Auckland)
Joshua McGirr (Christchurch)
Kalauni Pouvalu (Auckland)
Isaac Stone (Wellington)
Benjamin Tan (Auckland)
Simon Anderson (Alexandra)
Timothy Carpenter (Ohaupo)
Michael Forde (Invercargill)
Laurence Hughes (Wellington)
Jae Hyun Jeong (Auckland)
Michael Miller (Wellington)
Tyler Neumann (Palmerston North)
Alexander Sinclair (Wellington)